Rethinking Government Technology Procurement Processes

I saw this great post a few weeks ago on the Code for America website entitled “Help Us Procure Procurement Policies”.

After reading the post and watching the video, I totally understand where these folks are coming from. I get it. I’ve been an IT Program /  Project Manager and a Senior Systems Analyst. I know what it’s like to bump up against the Procurement process in both private industry and government. Now, I sit on the other side of that fence as a technology procurement and vendor management professional.

Do we need to rethink Procurement when it comes to cutting edge technology, i.e. technology that’s new and has been out on the market for a year or less? I’ll throw myself out there and say “yes”.  The post from Code for America was directed at the government procurement process, but it should apply to large corporations who can at times function, for lack of a better term, as a siloed, government agency.

Now, this isn’t to say that we throw the baby out with the bathwater. Yes, we need risk assessments and we need to ensure that the contract is sound. But, do we need to turn the mega-wheels of Corporate Procurement for these types of technology deals?

It’s food for thought and a great video. Take a look and let me know what your thoughts are.

Leave a Reply

